About the IM²C


The IM²C is an international modelling competition involving teams of secondary students from a number of countries. The IM²C poses a number of real-world mathematical scenarios, and each team works for several days using freely available material (from the web and other sources). At the end of this time, each team presents a report on their solution. The challenge awards prizes to the top teams. The challenge has two levels: a national and an international level. On the basis of the results of the national competitions, teams will be invited to enter the international level.

The main aim of the IM²C is to promote mathematical modelling, encouraging participants to explore the application of mathematics in real situations to solve problems of importance. Encouraging an extension of experience in mathematical modelling for students in secondary schools, the IM²C seeks to develop and enhance students’ ability to visualise, understand and apply mathematics in real-world contexts, providing a valuable opportunity for the practical demonstration of in-school learning and application of theory.

Real-world problems require a mix of different kinds of mathematics for their analysis and solution, and take time and teamwork. The IM²C provides students with a deeper experience both of how mathematics can explain our world and what working with mathematics looks like.

Difficult problems in society are almost always tackled by groups of people with different areas of expertise. By mobilising students in teams, the IM²C replicates real-world conditions; requiring collaboration and contribution from different skill sets, perspectives and methodologies to achieve overall success.

Providing an opportunity for peer-based learning, this aspect of the IM²C also helps to incorporate and reinforce the Australian Curriculum proficiency strands – understanding, fluency, problem-solving and reasoning – as students work together, communicate with one another and employ creativity, reason and logic to successfully solve the defined problem.


International Plans for IM²C

Each year, we invite participating countries to choose up to two teams of up to four students with one teacher/faculty advisor. The contest will begin in mid-March and end in early May. During that time teams choose five (5) consecutive days to work together on the problem. All solutions must be sent in by the faculty advisor, who must certify that the students followed the rules of the contest. (See Instructions/Rules for a more detailed discussion of the IM²C rules).

Papers are judged in early June by the international expert panel and winners announced by late June. Papers will be designated as Outstanding, Meritorious, Honorable Mention, and Successful Participant with appropriate plaques and certificates given in the name of students, their faculty advisor and their schools.

In the coming years, the IM²C, inspired by other major international contests, will consist of two rounds of competition. In the first round national teams will work on a common problem and submit their solutions to an expert panel. Then there will be a second round hosted each year by a different country, in which the national teams present their solutions in person and engage in additional modelling experiences together.


2017 Award Recipients


John Monash Science School, VIC

Team members: Dylan Sanusi-Goh, Alex Socha, YiJie Neo, Paromita Mitchell

Team advisor: Luke Bohni



Perth Modern School, WA

Team members: Indira Senthil Ajeetha, Yuqing (Sunny) Lu, Mehul Aggarwal, Kartikiya Bisht

Team advisor: Glen McClelland


Honourable mention

Box Hill High School, VIC
Team members: Miles Koumouris, Xander Britz, Bernhard Andersson, Michael Zhao

Team advisor: Eugene Roizman


National Finalist

Mentone Girls' Grammar School, VIC

Team members: Amanda Hu, Kelly Jiang, Nikki Phan, Jade Rayner

Team advisor: Maria Spaziani

John Monash Science School, VIC

Team members: Vladimir Mikho, Bors Deletic, Alex Wilce, Bo Kok

Team advisor: Luke Bohni

Box Hill High School, VIC

Team members: William Wang, Calvin Fairhurst, Lewis Douketis, Tse Hao Ong

Team advisor: Eugene Roizman

Ballarat Grammar School, VIC

Team members: Thomas Burnett, Annabella Lewis, Amy Zuell, Luke Williams

Team advisor: Natalie Draper

Lyneham High School, ACT

Team members: Enling Liao, Jessica Hill, Emi Callaway, Shannon Lanza

Team advisor: Rajesh Prasad



Trinity College, WA

Samuel Carbone, Kayvan Gharbi, Farruh Mavlonov, Trong Nguyen

Team advisor: Ian Hailes

Perth Modern School, WA

Alex Rohl, Alan Cheng, Daniel Ho, Virinchi Rallabhandi

Team advisor: Glen McClelland


Highly commended

Mildura Secondary College, VIC

Kyle Milner, Aliza Benchmo, Peter Callipari, Jake Barker

Team advisor: Sara Gleeson

Somerville House, QLD

Hung-Yi Liu, Lucy Belt, Sophie Watson, Prudence Edwards

Team advisor: Trevor Redmond



Manea Senior College, WA

Bethan Rainey, Jacob McGruddy, Tyrone O’Doherty

Team advisor: Sarah Barnes

Glen Waverley Secondary College, VIC

Yishi Huang, Xinrui Xia, Zhuohui Huang

Team advisor: Greg Breese


Australian Committee

The IM²C Australian organising committee of the following people: 


Dr Jill Brown, Australian Catholic University

Professor Peter Galbraith, University of Queensland

Dr Rodolfo Garcia-Flores, CSIRO Data61

Emeritus Associate Professor Barry Kissane, Murdoch University

Will Morony, AAMT

Michael O’Connor, Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute

Trevor Redmond, Somerville House, Queensland

Associate Professor Gloria Stillman, Australian Catholic University

Ross Turner (Executive Officer), ACER

Rachael Whitney-Smith, MAWA

Dr Alistair Carr Formerly Monash University (Gippsland Campus)


International Committee

The IM²C is overseen by an international organising committee of the following people:


Solomon Garfunkel, COMAP, USA

Keng Cheng Ang, National Institute of Education, Singapore

Fengshan Bai, Tsinghua University, China

Alfred Cheung, NeoUnion ESC Organization, Hong Kong SAR

Frederick Leung, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR

Vladimir Dubrovsky, Moscow State University, Russia

Henk van der Kooij, Freudenthal Institute, the Netherlands

Zbigniew Marciniak, Warsaw University, Poland

Mogens Allan Niss, Roskilde University, Denmark

Ross Turner, Australian Council for Educational Research, Australia

Jie 'Jed' Wang, University of Massachusetts, Lowell, USA

Initial funding for planning and organisational activities was provided by the Consortium for Mathematics and its Applications (COMAP), a not-for-profit company dedicated to the improvement of mathematics education, and by NeoUnion ESC Organization in Hong Kong. Additional support was graciously provided by CSIAM and Tsinghua University.